Home  /  Meditation (Dhayana)

A Step-by-Step Guide 7 Chakras for Beginners

Chakras are energy centers or focal points within the human body that are believed to be part of the subtle energy system. The concept of chakras originates from ancient Indian traditions, particularly in yoga, Tantra, and Ayurvedic medicine. The word “chakra” comes from Sanskrit and translates to “wheel” or “disk,” referring to the spinning nature of these energy centers.

In various spiritual as well as healing disciplines, there has been a tremendous excitement about Chakras for quite some time with most of the people wondering about its significance and importance in their lives.

It is fine to know more about its meaning, but one can easily get confused about it especially if he is a beginner. It is necessary to inform people about the 7 Chakras that the body has and the Chakra system.

It is more pertinent to know the details of these Chakras in its nascent and complex form, in detail.

In Sanskrit, the word “Chakra” means the “wheel”. It is translated from the popular language Hindi which means the “Wheel of Spinning Energy”.

A chakra is essentially a whirling powerhouse of energy, more like a vortex. Present in our bodies, these 7 chakras are the major energy centres along with few minor ones.

These Chakras are both charged as well as recharged through the contact with cosmic energy stream present in the atmosphere in the similar way our home is connected to a particular power source within our neighborhood. The only difference that you need to understand is that this cosmic energy is free and available at all times, being omnipresent.

Imagine a vertical power current instead of a fluorescent tube that runs entirely through the spine, from top to bottom, i.e. top of the head to the spine base. Consider it as the main source of energy of your body. These seven chakras are present in the center of the body and are perfectly aligned with this mentioned power line that we described.

These chakras regulate the energy flow throughout the entire electrical network that is meridians, which runs through our physical body.

The body’s entire electrical system is just like electricity power wiring in a house. This allows the electrical current to be sent from one part to another and it is available to be used whenever it is needed.
Due to various issues like stress, emotional as well as physical problems, sometimes these chakras get blocked.

If the energy system of the body can’t flow properly, then it is more likely that certain problems will emerge.

The consequences and impact of this irregular energy flow may lead to physical illness to mental issues along with discomfort or make a person out of mental and emotional balance. Let us check 7 chakras

Chakra 1- Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Coloured in red, it is situated at the perineum, the base of our spine. This chakra is closest to the earth and makes the connection with it. Its function is concerned about our earthly grounding as well as physical survival. This chakra is also associated with the feet, legs, bones, adrenal glands and large intestine. It controls our fight response. Its blockage can lead to paranoia, procrastination, fear and defensiveness affecting our mental and emotional well-being.

Read More – 5 Yoga Poses to Balance The Root (Mooladhara) Chakra

Chakra 2 – Sacral Chakra ( Swadhistana Chakra)

It is orange in colour and situated between the base of the spine and navel. It concerns about our lower abdomen, bladder, kidneys, circulatory system as well as reproductive organs and glands. It is associated with emotion. This chakra represents our desire, sexuality, pleasure, procreation as well as creativity. Its blockage can lead to mental and emotional problems, obsessive and compulsive behaviour as well as sexual guilt.

Chakra 3 – Solar Plexus Chakra ( Manipura Chakra)

Coloured in yellow, it is situated a few inches above our navel in the area of solar plexus. It is associated with the digestive system, pancreas, adrenals and muscles. It is also the emotional life’s seat. Feelings of laughter, personal power, anger and joy are duly associated with this chakra. Our sensitivity along with ambition as well as ability to achieve are stored in this chakra. Blockage of this chakra can lead to anger, lack of direction or victim feeling and frustration.

Chakra 4 – Anahata Chakra ( Heart Chakra)

It is green in colour that is situated within our heart. It is center of compassion, love, peace, and harmony. It is also thought as the house of the soul. It is associated with lungs, arms, hands, heart and thymus gland. We experience love through this Chakra which leads the feeling of unconditional love moving to the emotional centre also known as solar plexus. After that, it goes to the sexual center or our Base Chakra where attraction’s strong feelings are released. When these energies go along directed to Base Chakra, we feel the desire to settle down, love someone and marry. Blockage of this chakra leads to problems related to immune system, lungs and hear as well as the manifestation of inhumanity, unprincipled behavior as well as lack of compassion.

Chakra 5- Vishuddha Chakra ( Throat Chakra)

With the colour of blue or turquoise, this chakra is situated within the throat of our body. This chakra is concerned about communication, self-expression, creativity along with judgement. It is also associated with our Neck, shoulders, hands, arms, parathyroid and thyroid glands. It is also concerned about our senses of inner as well as outer hearing along with synthesising of ideas, transformation and purification as well as healing. Its blockage can lead to creative blocks, dishonesty or particular problems in communication with one’s desires and needs to others.

Chakra 6 – The Third Eye (Ajna Chakra)

Coloured in Indigo, the combination of red and blue, it is situated at the forehead’s center at our eye level or just above it. This chakra is associated with the question of the spiritual nature of our life and its existence. It signifies the question, perception as well as knowledge of the person. It is regarded as the point of vision, intuition along with wisdom. Our dream of current life, as well as recollections of previous lifetimes, are held in this Chakra. Blockage of this chakra can manifest problems such as lack of foresight, selective memory, mental rigidity and depression.

Chakra 7 – Crown Chakra ( Sahasrara Chakra)

This chakra is violet in color which is situated at the top of our head. It is associated with our cerebral cortex as well as the central nervous system along with the pituitary gland. It concerns about the information, acceptance, understanding as well as bliss. It is also regarded as our own place of connection with the one and only God, the Chakra of Divine purpose and our personal destiny. Blockage of this chakra can lead to psychological problems and emotional instability.


The balanced and harmonious flow of energy through these chakras is believed to contribute to overall well-being, vitality, and spiritual growth. Various practices like meditation, yoga, breathwork, Reiki, and energy healing aim to cleanse, balance, and activate the chakras, facilitating the free flow of energy throughout the body.


The content is purely informative and educational in nature and should not be construed as medical advice. Please use the content only in consultation with an appropriate certified medical or healthcare professional