Home  /  Yoga Vidya

What is Yamas(Restraints) and How to Practice the 5 Yamas?

According to Sage Patanjali Yoga sutras, The first limb from the eight limbs of yoga is Yamas(Restraints) which refers to disciplines, vows, or practices that are primarily concerned with the surroundings and environment around us along with our interaction with it.

While yoga practice can indeed increase physical flexibility and strength as well as aid in calming down the mind, it is of no use if we are still feeling rigid, weak, and completely stressed-out in our daily life.

What are The 5 Yamas of Yoga and How to practice The Things Not to do?

Yoga is a practice of transformation of our self and benefit every aspect of our lives, not just spending and exercising for 60 minutes on a rubber mat. If we can learn various things such as to be kind and truthful as well as use our energy in worthy pursuits, we will not only avail benefits for ourselves with these practices but also for everyone and everything around us too. let us look at 5 yamas of yoga –

1. Ahimsa (Non-violence)

Ahimsa is Sanskrit word which means non-violence.

Non-violence generally means ‘not to commit violence’. Its broad meaning is – do not harm any creature with body, mind, deeds, speech and speech. It is ahimsa not to harm anyone in mind, not to harm anyone with sarcasm, etc. and also not to do violence to any creature, at any stage even through karma. When this principle becomes firm in your determination and awareness, then only you will be able to progress in spirituality.

Non-violence is very important in Jainism and Hinduism. Ahimsa Paramo Dharma: (Ahimsa is the ultimate (greatest) religion) in the core of Jainism.

How to practice “Ahimsa” in your life?

In Ahimsa we practice how we treat ourselves and How we treat other-selves. We restraining the reactive tendency by accepting Letting Go. Don’t anger anyone. what you have is God’s will and be non-violent. Practice graditutde, Be happy in present, do your best to help others.

In the modern period, Mahatma Gandhi, who was a priest of truth and non-violence, whose life is an inspiration to others. He won every struggle of his life on the basis of truth and non-violence.

Ahimsa is the largest religion of man. – Lord Mahavira

Ahimsa is the ultimate religion, non-violence is the ultimate restraint, non-violence is the ultimate charity and non-violence is the ultimate sacrifice, non-violence is the ultimate fruit, non-violence is the ultimate friend and non-violence is the ultimate happiness. – Vedvyas

2. Satya (Truthfulness)

The second ymas of yoga “Satya” means “Being Truthful”

The word ‘Satya’ literally translates as ‘true essence’ or ‘true nature’. In yoga, Satya is one of the five yams, which translates to be true in one’s thoughts, speech, and action. Deep understanding, a lot of awareness, and a delicate balance of honesty are necessary for one’s expressions and actions.

How to practice “Satya” in your life?

Sathya (truth) is very important in life. We like those people who always speak the truth. Walking on the path of truth, one can make two mistakes; Do not decide the entire path, and do not start it.

In truth, we practice that no one saddened by our speech, not be sad by its movement, and it should not be thought poorly for itself. He is the greatest truth.

Always mind it- Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. Says Gautam Buddha

3.Asteya (non-stealing)

The third Yamas “Asteya” in daily life. Asteya is one of the five Yams in the context of Yoga, which literally means not stealing. And do not wish to steal someone else’s property by mind, word, and deed.

How to practice “Asteya” in your life?

Instead of avoiding the desire or reason for theft in itself, one should think why should be considered stealing. Because theft is a form of violence and injury to another person.

If you are committed with full devotion in Asteya then it has effect, all kinds of wealth, you get all kinds of prosperity.

4.Brahmacharya (celibacy)

Brahmacharya is a divine word that merely means non-indulgence in sexual activity. Brahmacharya is the ethos or conduct by which a person controls his body and mind completely through austerities.

Brahmacharya means living a satvik life, preserving your semen with auspicious thoughts, meditating on God, and accepting knowledge. All the sages of the Vedic period and the present day have asked to follow it.

How to practice “Brahmacharya” in your life?

Brahmacharya is extremely helpful for health and spiritual progress. A correct and complete understanding of celibacy leads to salvation in the end.

No spiritual progress is possible for human life without celibacy. We must fight against the internal evil forces of lust, anger and greed. Apart from this, you should protect yourself not only from sexual intercourse but also from auto-erotic expressions. Because it is the only key to awaken our Kundalini.

5.Aparigraha (non-greed)

Aparigraha is the final Yamas among the eight limbs of Patanjali’s yoga. This often translates to ‘non-greed’, non-ownership ‘and’ non-attachment ‘. The quality of aparigraha learns to take only what is really necessary, but no more.

Aparigraha is a great fast. Which in today’s era has even more importance in terms of public welfare. Because in Vartan Yuga, the longing desire is increasing.

How to practice “Aparigraha” in your life?

What you share – it grows, what you keep spreading – it gets more with you, and what you hold – you are lost. The more you spread for everyone – the more it grows with you.

If you ever use it and see, do not accept anything from anyone for a few days, you will find that there is a change in consciousness.

The Final Word

Ahimsa, Satya, Astaya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha, are the five yams. These are the five Maha Vrats, the more you observe them, the more their effect starts.


The content is purely informative and educational in nature and should not be construed as medical advice. Please use the content only in consultation with an appropriate certified medical or healthcare professional